• October 22, 2021

SEMI-FINAL report of LNCC cricket tournament

Keshkamath, Zimre combine to lead New Hind into final

Mumbai: All-ounder Om Keshkamath produced a match-winning effort by smashing a brilliant unbeaten century 122 runs and then claiming 3 wickets for 35 runs which enabled New Hind Cricket Club defeat Lord Northbrook Cricket Club by a close 17-run margin in a semi-final match of the Lord Northbrook CC orgainsed 1st LNCC Omni Global Trophy Invitation Under-19 (45 overs) Cricket Tournament 2021, conducted under the auspices of the Mumbai Cricket Association and played at the New Hind CC ground, Matunga. Left-arm spinner Ayush Zimre (5 for 53 runs) also played an important role in New Hind’s victory.

New Hind who were sent in to bat, got off to a positive start with the opening pair of Sahil Jadhav (25 runs) and Aditya Anand (23 runs) putting on 45 runs before the former was dismissed in the ninth over. Thereafter, New Hind lost three more quick wickets with the addition of just 15 more runs before number six batsman Om Keshkamath came to the crease and with a bold display rescued the innings which closed at 222 runs for the loss of nine wickets from their quota of 45 overs.

Om Keshkamath batted with authority and smashed the rival bowlers to all corners of the field. His unbeaten innings came from 97 balls and consisted of 17 well-timed shots to the boundary ropes and four powerful sixes.

In reply, Lord Northbrook made a bright, steady start as the top-order batsmen made useful contributions but they suddenly started to lose wickets at regular intervals and were bowled out for 205 runs in 41.2 overs. Number four bat Manan Bhatt once again showed great confidence making 64 runs but he did not receive much support from his teammates and had to end up on the losing side. New Hind bowlers Ayush Zimre (5 for 53 runs) and Om Keshkamath (3 for 35) were responsible for restricting the rival batsmen from reaching their target.

In the second semi-final, John Bright Cricket Club defeated Victory Cricket Club by 66 runs. Batting first, John Bright CC were bundled out for 162 runs in 37.2 overs. Akshat Jain (40 runs) and Jai Jain (53 runs) top-scored for John Bright while Nabijaan Ansari (3 for 35) was Victory CC’s only successful bowler. Victory CC struggled in chasing a low total as they were skittled out for 96 runs in 27.2 overs. John Bright bowlers Ved Kharade (3 for 27) and Himanshu Singh did the damage and secure their win and a place in the final.

Brief scores (semi-finals): John Bright Cricket Club 162 runs all out, 37.2 overs (Akshat Jain 40, Jai Jain 53, Nabijaan Ansari 3 for 35) beat Victory Cricket Club 96 runs all out, 27.2 overs (Ved Kharade 3 for 27, Himanshu Singh 4 for 18). Result: John Bright won by 66 runs.

New Hind Cricket Club 222 runs for 9 wickets, 45 overs (Om Keshkamath 122*) beat Lord Northbrook Cricket Club 205 runs all out, 41.2 overs (Manan Bhatt 64, Ayush Zimre 5 for 53 runs, Om Keshkamath 3 for 35). Result: New Hind CC won by 17 runs.

Share HKG Daily News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related post