• October 23, 2021

Bhabanipur bypoll: CPI(M)’s Srijib Biswas to take on TMC chief Mamata Banerjee

TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee has to win this by-poll to retain her chief minister’s post. The bypolls are on 30 September while votes will be counted on 3 October

Kolkata: The Left Front on Wednesday announced that CPI(M) leader Srijib Biswas will be its candidate for the bypoll to Bhabanipur assembly constituency, where West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is contesting as the Trinamool Congress nominee.

The bypoll will be held on 30 September along with the elections to two seats in Murshidabad district — Samserganj and Jangipur — where polling was countermanded during the eight-phase assembly elections conducted earlier this year due to death of candidates.

“Srijib Biswas will be the CPI(M) candidate from Bhabanipur constituency in south Kolkata,” the Left Front said in a statement.

The by-poll was necessitated due to resignation of TMC MLA Sovandeb Chattopadhyay who vacated the seat to allow Banerjee to contest from there. Banerjee lost to Suvendu Adhikari of the BJP from Nandigram during the assembly election held earlier this year.

The TMC supremo has to win this bypoll to retain her chief minister’s post.

The names of CPI(M)’s Md Modassar Hossain for Samserganj and the RSP’s Jane Alam Mian for Jangipur were announced by the Left Front earlier.

The notification for the election to the three seats was issued on 6 September, beginning the nomination process. 13 September is the last date for filing nominations. Votes will be counted on 3 October.

Share HKG Daily News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related post